Biden officials headline CLEANPOWER 2021


Gina McCarthy, the Biden administration’s national climate adviser, and deputy adviser Ali Zaidi have joined the speaker lineup at CLEANPOWER 2021 for a live virtual discussion.

The American Clean Power Association event takes place December 7 and 8 in Salt Lake City. McCarthy and Zaidi will join ACP CEO Heather Zichal in the discussion. Former Treasury secretary Larry Summers and energy industry expert Dan Yergin will also be part of virtual programming.

Gina McCarthy

CLEANPOWER brings together clean-energy industry professionals to create a collaborative platform for discussing issues important to the renewable energy industry.

President Biden established the Climate Policy Office in January 2021. The Office convenes the National Climate Task Force, which assembles Cabinet-level leaders from across 21 federal agencies and departments, as well as interagency working groups to assist with federal actions to reduce climate pollution in every sector of the economy; increase resilience to the impacts of climate change; protect public health; conserve lands, waters, oceans, and biodiversity; deliver environmental justice; and spur union jobs and economic growth.

Ali Zaidi

“President Biden has set forth a bold agenda to tackle the climate crisis while stimulating economic growth. We are thrilled to have two of his closest climate advisers as part of CLEANPOWER 2021, which will bring together industry experts, policy leaders and other stakeholders that will be critical to making President Biden’s renewable goals a reality,” Zichal said.

CLEANPOWER’s mission is to not only bring together the different technologies that make up the renewables mix – onshore wind, offshore wind, solar, storage, and transmission – but also the different segments within the industries: manufacturers, construction firms, owner operators, utilities, financial firms, corporate buyers, and more.

ACP also announced its CLEANPOWER 2021 executive speakers. The list includes ACP chairman Jim Murphy, AES Clean Energy President Leo Moreno, Vestas North America President Laura Beane, Clearway Energy Group CEO Craig Cornelius, Leeward Renewable Energy CEO Jason Allen, Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy Service CEO for the Americas region David Hickey, and Cypress Creek Renewables CEO Sarah Slusser.